top of page

Artist of the week

Artist of the week , " Yayoi Kusama " . Who's that ? You might saw her art pieces before but not heard of her name ? Yayoi Kusama is an artist and also a writer .Although she had paint collage , sculpture , but one of her famous art pieces , was a repetition , pattern art pieces .

For example :

This is one of her repeat pattern sculpture art piece .

She's the youngest daughter in the family . She love painting , but there's a problem . It was her mother , her mother discourage her to become a professional artist one day . Her mother tore away her paintings , but she made more painting.

Im sure most of us are curios why did she draw most of her painting in dots and nets .

Here , this is what she say :

One day I was looking at the red flower patterns of the tablecloth on a table, and when I looked up I saw the same pattern covering the ceiling, the windows and the walls, and finally all over the room, my body and the universe. I felt as if I had begun to self-obliterate, to revolve in the infinity of endless time and the absoluteness of space, and be reduced to nothingness. As I realized it was actually happening and not just in my imagination, I was frightened. I knew I had to run away lest I should be deprived of my life by the spell of the red flowers. I ran desperately up the stairs. The steps below me began to fall apart and I fell down the stairs straining my ankle.’ – Yayoi Kusama.

At the age of ten , she started to paint using polka dots and nets . She also did some heart paintings using oils , pastels and also watercolors.

In 1948 , after the war ends , Yayoi Kusama start to exhibit her paintings during her teenage times . She try to convince her parents to allow her to continue her studies in kyoto to study Japaense Nihonga style .

In 1955, she started a written dialogue with the American artist, Georgia O’Keeffe, moved to Seattle in 1957, and then relocated to New York to study at the Arts Students League. Kusama had her first exhibition at the Brata Gallery in 1959. Infinity Nets was an exciting exhibition that was novel and avant-garde at a time in New York when Abstract Expressionism was the contemporary art form.

From 1967 to 1969, move on to painting and covering people with polka dots ,

In 1973 , she returned to Japan due to her serious illness , " Depersonalisation syndrome " . her creativity expanded to poetry and literary work . In 1977 , she admitted herself into psychiatric hospital in Tokyo, and continue living there till today . She has a studio for her in the hospital to continue her art pieces .

Yayoi kusama work and identity as an artist , we often see her photographed together with her art . Lastly , she say that without her art ,s she would had killed herself .

Well ,after reading and a steps further understanding the history of Yayoi kusama, i think she's kinda cool , she was born with a special talent , and now all her art pieces are real famous . To her , art is just like her family .


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page